Skip to content

Strawberry rhubarb compote

June 9, 2012
by

20120609-074921.jpg

Rinse rhubarb, cut into half inch pieces, place in a pot with a half an inch to an inch of water at low/medium heat (the amount of water you use is determined by how much rhubarb you have… But remember, it’s much easier to add water than to take it out!). Add a spoonful or so of raw sugar ( you can use the natural sweetener of your choice) and cook, stirring every few minutes. In the meantime, rinse the strawberries, remove the green tops, and cut them into pieces. I like to slice once lengthwise and then several times crosswise, but it doesn’t really matter because now you’ll throw them in the pot with the rhubarb and they’ll break down. Continue stirring and keep an eye on your mixture. The s&r should start to soften and as time goes by, it should all thicken up a bit. If the fruit has broken down but it’s still a little soupy, you can add a bit of cornstarch to get it to the consistency of warm preserves. Remove from heat.

While its still warm, I love to spread it over bread (with or without butter), and have a cup of coffee close by… Once it’s cooled completely, it tastes marvelous mixed into your favorite yogurt! If you can resist the urge to eat it all in one sitting, save it in the fridge (go ahead and just put the covered pot in there). My leftovers are lucky to see the light of the next day because this compote is also a satisfying sweet post dinner.

My great grandmother used to make rhubarb compote, among her many mouthwatering dishes I remember from growing up in the bluegrass state. We used to eat homemade fried chicken with all the fixings for the holidays at her house, and sometimes I think I’m the only person in NYC who loves stewed tomatoes thanks to her. She was a debutant as a girl, and a character throughout her life. Every time I saw her she would ask “Now honeeeeeey! Did you grow your hair out just for meeeeee?” which still makes me giggle a little to think about. I’ll have to write more about her funny ways and to share more of her recipes soon, and today I’ll wear her golden locket necklace as a remembrance. And yes, she did put her own picture inside of it 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Barker permalink
    June 9, 2012 11:43 am

    It is so yummy! thanks for making it for meeeee!!!!! Smooches

    • June 9, 2012 8:36 pm

      Thanks for coming to visit! I had so much fun with you… xoxo

  2. Food Stories permalink
    June 9, 2012 7:23 pm

    Enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

    • June 9, 2012 8:35 pm

      Thank you so much for the nomination! I would definitely love to participate!

  3. Barbara Barker permalink
    June 10, 2012 8:52 am

    Awesome!!!!!

  4. Robyn Genau permalink
    June 18, 2012 4:35 pm

    I can remember my Mom making the same thing when I was growing up in No.Ky.brings back some fond memories. Am going to have to make some for myself the next a.m. or so.

    • August 8, 2012 1:24 pm

      Hi Robyn, thanks for sharing your memories! And hope you had a chance to make the compote – it really hits the spot!

Leave a Reply

