Skip to content

Road trip to Siena

May 19, 2012
by

On my last full day in Italy, Nadia and Matteo took me on a road trip to Siena.  It was such a treat to spend a little more time with them, and to have my own personal tour guides to explain the history of this gorgeous town, and help me visualize the famous Palio horserace that takes place there.

We got a little bit of a late start (too much delicious Italian wine the night before…), but once I saw the gate to the town, I felt refreshed.

We wandered through the streets, capturing little moments (and a caffe macchiato) along the way to…

(a nice place to park your horse)

(one of the many neighborhood clubs in Siena)

… Piazza del Campo!

where we sat eating cookies and talking about how insane it must be when the horses and their riders gallup around the perimeter of the shell shaped square…

We did a walk past the Duomo in Siena

and took one last look over the hills of Tuscany before heading back towards Florence in the car…

The next morning I was reluctantly on the plane bright and early to NYC.  I had the most amazing time on my trip and thank you again Nadia and Matteo for being such lovely hosts and making me feel so welcome and at home….  Miss you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

