Skip to content

Back to basics

April 16, 2012
by

20120414-234200.jpg
Last week was not a good one… Without going into details about what I’ve half-jokingly dubbed ‘my little week from hell’ and its events that seemed to conspire against me to bring my mood and energy to a deep and despairing place, I’ll just summarize it as somewhat to nearly intolerable.

To try to purge this growing rain cloud from my usually sunny perch in the bay window, I’ve tried to go back to basics. A mid-April re-start, and a reminder of the joys to be found in the simple things in life… So I decided to share a little list of those things that have brought me comfort, and brought me back from the brink. (in no particular order)

+ a bowl of plain yogurt topped with baked apples and a dried strawberry (pictured)
+ a rambling walk in the neighborhood with no destination in mind, just to admire the spring flowers and the beautiful buildings, and allow myself to look around rather than straight forward
+ hugs and conversations with friends
+ drinking tea
+ wearing a favorite dress
+ looking up at night to see the stars, however few of them you can see from NYC
+ good posture
+ the sights and smells of low tide, and being by the water
+ the power of a long, deep breath
+ cat naps
+ putting the old iphone away
+ brushing my hair (somehow this helps me so much in letting things go…)
+ listening to the tobolowsky files
+ dining al fresco
+ chia seed muffins
+ being kind to others, and even smiling at strangers
+ allowing and accepting the unexpected
+ and thankfully the list could go on and on…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne Sessions permalink
    April 16, 2012 11:39 am

    Dear Gia,
    You have the right response to the situation and I know your beautiful smile will light your way. Hope life rights itself for you soon.
    Anne S.

  2. kate permalink
    April 16, 2012 1:03 pm

    oh buddy..i like the honesty here. come over anytime and sit by the seedlings. i wont even talk:)

    • April 16, 2012 2:32 pm

      Thank you ladies so much… After a nice little trip out of the city and a long cat nap, I think my lazy Sunday has turned things around for me. xo

  3. cyndie permalink
    April 26, 2012 9:46 pm

    Thanks goodness that week has passed, pretty girl…xx

Leave a Reply

