Skip to content

Avocado hair mask

February 7, 2012
by

Between the blustery wind outside and the blasting heat inside, the constant layering of coats and scarves and woolen dresses, and the fact that I never get it cut, my hair has been feeling dry and sad lately. My favorite deep conditioner has been out of stock for a year somehow (C.O. Bigelow, I hope you’re reading this… Hurry up!), and nothing I’ve tried lately has restored that essential moisture to my parched ends. Alas… πŸ˜‰

I was in the grocery doing a post-yoga shopping trip late one night last week and picked up a seriously overripe avocado. Before I had a chance to wrinkle my nose and drop it with a wince, a lightbulb went off in my head… Avocado hair mask! I read a recipe for one a few years ago and remembered it being pretty simple so I bought that mushy chosen one, plus an avocado that I would find more edible along with some other essentials, and headed back to Brooklyn.

As soon as I walked in the door, I started my experiment. I figured, if I’m rubbing food in my hair, how precise does this hair mask really need to be?!? I mashed the pulp of the entire avocado in a bowl, poured in some honey and nearly expired flax seed oil, gave the concoction a good mix, and started to slather the green goop onto my scalp…

I didn’t realize how cooold it would be! (this would be a nice thing to do in the summer for sure!) At first I felt a little awkward looking in the mirror, globs of avocado in my hands and hair, but told myself something along the lines of “if you’re going to do this, do it right!” and allowed myself that childlike joy of playing with my food, making sure to rub it in well, from scalp to roots, and laugh to myself during the process!

I decided to leave it in for a while, letting the nutrients from the mask absorb into my mane. It’s been a while since I stayed in a hotel, so I made a makeshift shower cap from a dry-cleaning bag, wrapping the bag around my upswept hair like you would do with a towel after a shower, tucking any loose ends of plastic up and under. I’ve spared you a picture of my plastic beehive!

I got caught up looking at trays for breakfast in bed, and before I knew it, an hour had gone by! It was pretty comical to watch the green water rinse down the drain of the tub as I took a shower, and when it finally became clear, I washed and conditioned my hair as per normal.

The mask worked well, making my hair feel silky and smooth, and restoring a shine that’s been missing in recent weeks. I’m going to start pampering myself with this at home spa treatment at least once a month, and look forward to experimenting with the recipe. Looking online afterwards, I saw suggestions for using raw egg white or banana in place of the oil. Next time, I’m definitely going to try to put the mixture through a sieve as well. There are little fibers in the avocado that hadn’t rinsed out of my hair, and I didn’t realize it until after they were covering my comb!

20120205-095815.jpg

Post script: Mom, sorry I’ve done all these delinquent activities (food in hair, bag on head) home alone on a weekday night!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Barker permalink
    February 8, 2012 6:38 am

    No apologies needed, only accolades for you!!!

  2. March 2, 2012 7:35 am

    πŸ™‚ btw – it does work a lot better if you push the avocado through a strainer first.

Trackbacks

  1. Honey face mask « breakfast in the bay window

Leave a Reply

