Skip to content

Spoon love

February 1, 2012
by

I realized some time ago while I was washing the dishes that mine is a spoon household. Laying out the utensils to dry, almost every spoon I own was lined up in a neat little row, along with two or three forks, and one lonely knife. It’s true that most of the go-to meals I prepare are best enjoyed with curved cutlery- soup, yogurt, oatmeal, sautéed greens with a soft boiled egg on top, etc…. I do use forks and knives from time to time, but generally save the sharp, pointy stuff as a last resort. I think might be a reflection on my personality actually…
Anyways, to honor what I consider to be the most utile kitchen item, I decided to do a line up of my treasured spoons. Each one has a little story, from left:

20120201-110539.jpg

  • My tea scoop that my mom gave me as a birthday present.
  • An every day spoon from my great grandmother’s set of silverware.
  • A sweet little dessert spoon, perfect for persimmon sorbet.
  • My first grapefruit spoon, found at an estate sale in Kentucky.
  • A friend brought me the little owl as a souvenir from Japan. It’s mostly a decoration spoon.
  • The ribbed serving spoon was also from great grandma’s collection and has precious floral embellishments.
  • I bought a mismatched set of silver hotel soup spoons from a yard sale a few years ago upstate. This one is from the Magnolia. It would be fun to try to find the inn where it originated.
  • A hand carved wooden spoon from Maine, purchased last summer on a wild women road trip- perfect for taking a taste of my culinary concoctions.
  • And lastly a little measuring spoon.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. nancy grantz permalink
    February 1, 2012 3:25 pm

    love your spoon collection. it is such a reflection of you.

  2. kate permalink
    February 8, 2012 12:07 pm

    I’m pinning this on Pinterest…..should get you some viewers

Trackbacks

  1. Spoon love continues! « breakfast in the bay window
  2. Postcard collection « breakfast in the bay window

Leave a Reply

