Skip to content

Friday funk

January 20, 2012
by

It’s felt like a looooong week (despite having MLK day off!), and I woke up asking myself if today wasn’t really Saturday and my weekday alarm clock had somehow malfunctioned. Nice try…

So I dragged myself out of bed, started doing my little morning things, and realized I didn’t really have anything to eat for breakfast! The bread I bought in Brighton Beach was like a rock, my milk had expired, there was barely any yogurt, and not a grapefruit in sight… (I’ll could keep going, but I’m sure you get the picture) I usually plan my shopping around the Saturday morning farmer’s market, and this case of mistaken day identity had left my cupboards a little bare.

Rather than fret and hem and haw, I decided to get resourceful. I took out those four spoonfuls of yogurt, found the last persimmon hiding under the acorn squash, cut up a granola bar, and heated up the coffee I had saved from yesterday, and made them look as special as can be! On top of last year’s kunel magazine calendar, it was enough to change my funk’s momentum around…

It’s important to remember how the smallest shift in your perspective can lead to greater changes, and can create appreciation and joy where before there might not have been… Taking that extra little time in the morning to remember and treat yourself is one of the easiest (and for me, most pleasurable) ways to do that. Happy Friday, almost Saturday!

And maybe tonight, I’ll make bread soup with that hard, leftover loaf!

20120120-075712.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    January 24, 2012 9:31 pm

    you make me cry your thoughts are so beautiful

Leave a Reply

