Skip to content

Naptime Comics + mail call!

August 12, 2013

I received a package in the mail yesterday and I could not believe the treasures it held!  I have to share the joy so we can all remember how sweet and sacred our connections are.

Let me back up.  I ordered it.  A close friend moved to Seattle last year and is a very talented comic book author and overall creative spirit.

Robyn has an etsy store that I do not patronize as often as would do my spirit good.  But last week, I got it together for a brief moment and purchased some of her works and they arrived like this:

IMAG0718

Bundled to the nines!  Robyn included a proper, 2 page handwritten letter (tell your Grandma!  People still write longhand.  In cursive, even!)  On top is a hand-painted card congratulating us on our Domestic Partnership finalization from January (hey, we all get busy.)

IMAG0725

The illustrated food journal detailed her move from NYC to Seattle and earned the comment “this is a collector’s item” from AB.  Each page is richly printed with a hand affixed label on the back telling you from where and whence the culinary treat came.  It made me hungry and I don’t even eat lengua.

il_570xN.468709514_sjbfil_570xN.468729373_f2j6

The second book I had purchased is more of a ‘zine for those children of the 90’s.  “17 Weddings.”  Robyn has been to many and chronicled half of them here, one to a page, comic style.  It was less naughty than some of her comics and, if you are looking for it like I am, provides a thoughtful commentary on one of our country’s strongest traditions.

il_570xN.414072272_rukb

The final goodie was a rolled up piece of  grey tissue.  It had a masking tape closure: “from the Pacific NW.”  Inside were mossy bark offerings, cottony thistle, a pine cone dubbed “little guy”, a lone acorn and basically every reason I am friends with her.

IMAG0720

If you wanna receive magical musings in your mailbox, look at NAPTIME COMICS.  I can’t promise any landscape art or longhand letters but I can promise your day will be incrementally better.

IMAG0728

Lots of love,

Kate

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ANNE WALKER Sessions permalink
    August 13, 2013 9:22 am

    You are a very good writer and I’m enjoying following your comments. See you in a few days! Love, ‘Mom

  2. Robyn permalink
    August 13, 2013 3:59 pm

    I love your writing and your wide open heart! Thanks for the blog love!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

